Advaitam and Science

OM, Purnamata purnamitam purnat purnamutachyate, purnasya purnamataye purnamevavasishyate – Bri.Up V.i.1


                                                           DAIVA SAMPAT (PART 1)

In this article let me bring before you the different daiva sampat (good values) as said by Bhagavan Krishna in chapter 16 in Bhagavad Gita.

In chapter sixteen Bhagavan explains about nearly twenty-six daiva sampat which I will explain in a series of articles.

1. Abhayam – Fearlessness

To understand fearlessness, one has to understand about fear.  Fear is the conditioning of the mind.  A young child will not have fear.  That is why it goes to grab the insect, cross the road etc.  But it is the fearless nature out of ignorance.  It doesn’t know the danger of it or it doesn’t know that how much it causes fear and inconvenience to others.  If we do not condition its mind with facts about danger then the child cannot be protected.  Fearless nature Bhagavan refers here is fear due to unnecessary ideas.  Some people have too much negative thoughts and it induces fear in them; and it hides the true nature of the Atma.  A wise man will not have fear over any thing and at the same time he behaves in a very intelligent way.  If we identify with our Atma then we will be fearless as well as intelligent.

2. Sattvasamshuddhi – Purity of heart.

We all have the same intelligence and it is the intelligence that makes us unique.  All the other beings too have intelligence but unfortunately, they lack a developed mind to reflect that intelligence.  In human beings also the intelligence is not shining at all the time in all the people.  Due to the cloud of impurities in our mind the intelligence is not shining in our mind.  It is clouded by the impurity of jealousness, greediness, selfishness and crooked thoughts.  It is necessary to have the purity of the mind to make the intelligence in us to shine only then the mind can grasp higher concepts of life.

3. Jnana-yoga-vyavasthiti (steadfastness in knowledge and yoga)

Many people in the materialistic life do not care to know of the nature of the Atma and nowadays practicing yoga has become a trend just for the benefit of the health. 

It is very important to know the nature of our Self else we continue to live in a world of fantasy.  We feel that earning and spending is the only way of life and we spend our whole life covered in ignorance.  It is very important to have knowledge and a wise man will have a steadfast knowledge.

The main aim of yoga is to control the mind and the senses but unfortunately it is used as a physical exercise without knowing its real meaning.  A wise man will practice yoga to merge his mind in reality.

4. Dhanam (giving alms)

We feel that giving alms is generosity, but it is absolutely needed to erase our sins.  Giving dhana helps us to erase the nature of greediness, jealousy and selfishness which instigates us to do sins.  Due of this nature we have done sins and it will kindle us to do more sins.

Dhana need not be material objects or money alone.  We are limiting dhana to a very small circle.  We can do many dhanas like spending our time for others goodness, sharing knowledge, giving advice only when needed, sharing our facilities for others to come up in life etc.  Whatever we consider worthy of sharing with others for others goodness is considered as dhana.  We should not consider the recipient as a dumpbin to dump our over used objects.  we should share what we have with others that is worthy of sharing. 

Dhana must be done as a duty and not as a privilege.  When we take something from the world, even though it is the salary for our hard work, we have to give back a portion of it for the needy people. It is the dharma.

We must give dhana to the worthy people, at the right time and right place; else we will be taken advantage for our action.  Our dhana will not be used in the right way.  It will make others lazy and greedy.  To identify a proper recipient is very important.

5. Dama (control of the senses)

The five senses drag the mind to the external world.  The senses are the door to the external world.  If they are controlled by proper knowledge then we will not be deceived by ignorance.  The five senses (eyes, nose, ears, taste and touch) delude the mind and hides the reality.  One has to control the senses gradually.

6. Yagna (sacrifice)

We accept so many benefits from nature; so, it is inevitable that we have to give back and worship them. There are five types of yagna a person has to perform in his life time. 

They are deva-yagna – worship of god

pitru-yagna –  to worship the ancestors

Bhuta-yagna – to worship other being who have helped us to come up in our life like guru pooja, go pooja etc  

Rishi yagna – many Sages (rishis) have given us the scriptures and the Vedas.  Without this we would have been in ignorance.  It is our duty to thank them and worship them by reading their scriptures. 

Manushya yagna – In this modern world treating the guest who come to see us in a comfortable way has become very rare.  We avoid guests, and we too do not go and visit them in their place.  We fail to recognize the people who have lifted us up in our life.  Aditi pooja is considered as a great pooja.  The people who visit us must feel comfortable and free to stay in our place.

These are the five types of yagnas a person ought to do in their life time.

There are many more daiva sampat (good values) as said by Bhagavan Krishna in Bhagavad Gita, which I will continue in my next article.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *